I just got back from the book signing for Jenny Lawson’s, aka The Bloggess, book, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, A Mostly True Memoir, and IT WAS SO TOTALLY AWESOME!!!

It was a great date with my husband, and we laughed our asses off. Although it was a amazing turnout with standing room only and even that was full, that also means that no matter how low you set the air conditioning everyone is sweating their asses off and waving their programs in their faces.

Mrs. Lawson is such a sweet lady. I, however, am such a horrible person…

I made her cry.

I know, I know, I said it already, I’m a horrible person.

Actually, I really DID make her cry. For a second. Almost. Sort of.

Now, I know her book is hilarious, and if you haven’t read it, WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU?? It’s only been on the New York Time’s Best Seller List for 14 weeks! Ok, you can always get the audio and catch up. We’ll wait.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Are you done?

OK, great. Moving on.

So, she read aloud a chapter…the one where she O.D.s on ….oh, sorry. I don’t want to give anything away. See how I totally made you want to read it for those that STILL haven’t read it.

Then there was a great question and answer session. After that they did the book signing. I have to give a HUGE shout-out to the Changing Hands Bookstore in Chandler. They not only had a seat reserved for us, but because I discussed my condition ahead of time with them, they put me right at the front of the line for signatures so I could get out of there with as little risk of being bumped as possible, and so I was there as little time as possible. I really appreciate that more than you will ever know, and have a thank you card all ready to go. But I had to write this first because I want you all to know just what a great time you missed.

Sorry, maybe next time.

So, Mrs. Lawson, (because I STILL haven’t been given permission to call her Jenny. At least not to her face.) signed our book and took a picture with us. When I asked if I could get a hug, she was like, “Absolutely you can have a hug!” because she’s just that awesome. She put her arms out like any normal person. This means, of course, that I take her hand, crossed it over her chest, and hugged HER, since to BE hugged hurts like all hell. And she was SO COOL about it. Then I said, “You changed my life.”

That is when we both teared up.

I was all emotional . I’m sure she was just crying because we’d been in a room overfull of people with air conditioners that were trying, and failing, to keep up and had been sweating the entire time. While I had used deodorant, it only works so well.

We got out of there right away. I didn’t want security to see us and say, “There she is, that’s the lady that made Mrs. Lawson cry!”

It was an awesome night. Maybe next time I will just tell her how awesome she is without making her cry.

